In DR Congo, National Experts Hone their Skills to Work with the Information Tracking System

14 April 2021, Sofia-Nur-Sultan. The first round of training in using the Information Tracking System (ITS) with participants from DR Congo has been successfully conducted as part of the 2021-activities under Project MC 5.01 15B, Support to Southern African States in Nuclear Safety and Safeguards.  Fifteen people from the National Committee for Protection against Ionizing Radiation (CNPRI) have taken part in the 5-day virtual training event from April 5th to April 9th, which included theoretical and practical work on all the modules of the platform.

The course has started with a welcoming speech from the Director-General Prof Florimond Nyamoga Kabanda. After all subjects from the training agenda were covered, a real-time demonstration took place, including a vehicle with trackers on board going on a predefined route in Kinshasa's outskirts, simulating an actual shipment. The participants were very proactive and skilful with the system, completed the online exam successfully, and were awarded Certificates of Completion the course. CNPRI has provided excellent coordination and setting for the training, which was conducted online by the experienced staff of Software Company Ltd. headquartered in Bulgaria. The company, which is the developer of the Information Tracking System, has scheduled in April and May regular training courses for national experts from Zimbabwe and Mozambique. The trainings complement the ISTC-led webinars on Stakeholders’ engagement and advocacy for nuclear safety and security across the Southern African countries that participate and partner under project MC 5.01 15B. 


The Information Tracking System (ITS) – a key component of Project MC 5.01 15B – is conceived as a common web-based platform for data exchange and monitoring the transportation of Uranium Ore Concentrate and other radioactive materials within and across the borders of several southern African states. Since 2020, the ITS has already been used by relevant national entities in South Africa, Tanzania, and Zambia. In 2021, Mozambique, DR Congo, Zimbabwe, and Madagascar will join the network.